Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Who's Doak Walker?

Ned went to Dallas, and stopped by the SMU campus. He's a pretty big sports fan, and they have this statue of Doak Walker. The Doak Walker award is presented annually to the nation's top running back. Unlike many awards, the recipient must be (1) in good academic standing, and (2) on schedule to graduate within one year of other students in their academic eligibility. Meaning, they cannot be a poor student who plans on never actually graduating college.

The award has been given in the past to:

Darren McFadden, Arkansas (2007 and 2006)

Reggie Bush, USC (2005) . . . so the winner can accept money from agents, as long as he is a good student.

Cedric Benson, Texas (2004)

Chris Perry, Michigan (2003)

Larry Johnson, Penn State (2002)

and, skipping a couple,

Ricky Williams, Texas (1997 and 1998). So it is not necessarily a predictor of future success.

No comments: